Macadamia Nut Spring

Hole in the wall spice shops and coconut suntan oil mixed with sweat and vanilla soft-serve assault my sensory memory box when I think about time spent in Natal. A recent spring on Southdowns Nut Farm has added a third dimension to my smell repertoire.

The girls and I disappear off to the farm every now and then which in the spring  is a place full of brightness. Macadamia nut trees laden with their pollen load and beehives brought in for the bloom – rent paid with jars of liquid gold when the bees have done their job – fill the fields, and everywhere there is colour and scent.

On the farm Granny Connie and Great Aunt Edna cut a particularly bright scene, despite the dulling of their memories with each passing day. Sitting together at arm’s length in their loyal armchairs they spend their days crocheting brightly coloured blankets while sharing a collective history kept alive through the repetition of a reservoir of childhood stories. Unable to tell you what was on their lunch plate they are able to clearly remember that as young girls their mom would not let them out to play until they had engaged with one or other form of needlework. Their hands still remember.

Gran must have been around my age when my Mom gave birth to me and so has known me, her oldest grandchild, half her life. She no longer knows me. I was not there during her early years.

The Grannies require and receive 24 hour care and plenty of physical and emotional input and in return provide enormously humbling lessons in caring and mortality. My young watch and take part in the care-giving process modelled around them while they also lay down precious memories of their Great Granny to one day share with their off-spring. The rest of us are forced to recognise passing time in all its reality.

On the farm days role by with the comforting sounds of the nut machines, the bird life, and the farm dogs, with daily routines and rituals – and surrounding all this is the constant, intensely heady, dizzying, musky, sensual smell of a Natal Spring.

Southdowns Farm – Southern Natal Spring 2011

2 thoughts on “Macadamia Nut Spring

  1. Thanks Jessie. My friend Leigh who blogs @ The Lucky Bean suggested I do something on the Grans. Had planned to post about the farm anyway, but then when Nutty went missing I became so sad that I couldn’t. a bit of time helped.

Leave a Reply

